Metacognition

There’s a voice in our heads. Should we listen to it?

What does the voice say? What does the voice want? Where does the voice come from? Why does the voice sound like our own voice even though it isn’t? How do we control this voice?

I’m lost in my vast mental landscape.

When I come to think about it I’m not one person, but many. I’m the guy that I am today. I’m the guy that I could have been today. I’m the guy that I don’t want to be today. I’m the guy that I will be today. I’m the guy my parents warned me about today. I am so many people and I have so many different voices. The hard part is knowing which one of my voices belongs to which one of my beings.

Should I pretend like I don’t hear myself in my own head? If I do then what will replace the silence in my head…. another voice? If I choose not to listen to any voices then how will I hear my thoughts, what will I think about?

When I think about something, is it because I really want to think about it or because one of the voices in my head wants me to think about it? How do I know the difference between what I want and what the voices in my head want? What am I? Am I me or am I something else?

When did I start becoming like this? Or was I always like this and am just aware of it now? Will my voices at one point start to agree with one another and say the same things in unison? How do I reach that point? Should I choose one voice over the other or should I find the right compromise and choose to listen to all of my voices?

Was it meant to be like this or is it only me? Is the world a confusing place because I’m confused? Is there too much freedom of expression in the world because there is too much freedom of expression for the voices in my head? Am I asleep or am I high? Am I awake or am I asleep? Is it too late or is it too early? Am I ranting or am I making sense?

You! Yes, you! Can you hear them in your head too? Are they confusing you? Are they making you form an opinion? Are they changing your perceptions? Do you fear their power? Do you fear your own power? Who are you really listening to? Are you listening to others? Are you listening to the voices in your head? Where are you in this mess? Can you find yourself in this pandemonium and know for a fact that it is you and not something else or someone else? Or maybe you’ve changed too much already to be able to recognize yourself anymore.

I’ve changed too much to be able to recognize myself anymore.

There are voices in our heads. Should we listen to them?

About Banda Mann Singh Lamba

I'm here to create art in the form of words. Come, take a dip in my day dreams.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

