Change..?

I find it weird when people talk about being yourself. What does it mean to “be yourself”? How can you be yourself when every second you are changing?

When it comes to me, I do this weird thing at times. Okay, I do it all the time actually. Have you ever observed the people around you and picked up certain things from them? By certain things I mean do you ever see something in somebody and incorporate it into yourself? I call it being a ‘sponge’. Seeing things around you and soaking them up. Now here is the hard part. Are you being yourself in this process?

On the one hand, you could say that no you aren’t because you are essentially taking something from somebody else and making it your own. It was never you, but you picked it up and made it a part of you. It is an alien entity that you have welcomed into your ‘self’.

On the other hand, you could say that in this process you are becoming yourself, or even closer to yourself. Are you always the same person or do certain things about you change every now and then? It’s obviously the latter. So how do you change? It’s quite obvious. You change due to an external stimulus: your environment or other people. There is this pretty famous thought process that I kind of agree with. It’s got to do with people that you come to meet down the line. According to this thought process, you meet some people so that they can help you to grow as a person and others you meet so that you can help them to grow as people. How do you help somebody to grow? Maybe you see something in them that completely changes your outlook or vice versa. So in this scenario you see some particular aspect of their character or some belief of theirs that you come to accept as your own. That is part of what I believe is the process of “finding yourself”.

So I always get kind of confused when I am faced with a particular situation where I have to tell myself to “be myself”. In doing so, I am not holding on to what I AM, but to what I WAS. In other words, I am stagnating.

So don’t ever listen to anybody when they tell you to “be yourself” because at the end of the day, even you don’t know what you are and you never will and you know what it’s completely cool to not know yourself. The moment you think that you “know yourself” is the moment that you have accepted that you will no longer change any more or grow.

In other words, that is when you die.

About Banda Mann Singh Lamba

I'm here to create art in the form of words. Come, take a dip in my day dreams.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

