Hunger

“It just hurts because I care about you so much and you don’t feel the same way about me and no matter what I do, I can’t stop feeling this way about you. In fact, it hurts so much that I can feel it burning in my stomach. Wait, does that mean that my heart is in my stomach?”

“No Joe, it does not. It’s the food poisoning…you got food poisoning this morning, remember?” said the spoilt mutton burger lying on the kitchen counter.

“I just can’t believe that you would do this to me! I love you so much, mutton burger! I dream about you sometimes and I’m always happy when you are around! Why would you do this to me huh? You enjoy it when I go to barf in the bathroom because of you?! “

It was getting tense in there. The smell of stale food reminded one of last night’s dinner. That dinner tasted like shit. Leftover Chinese rice and fake people have so much in common: they both fuck you up in unimaginable ways. It was the perfect backdrop for both of the lovers to have it out with each other.

“It’s not you, it’s me okay! I’m stale and I always will be. It’s your fault that I’m like this. You made me this way! You left me out on the counter all night, why couldn’t you have just gotten that refrigerator of yours repaired? Do you know how hot it is out here?!”

Joe had given up everything for this. All of the 300 bucks that he had left in his wallet. When you love somebody, you will make sacrifices for them. Joe sacrificed his Sunday outing for this mutton burger. It was the most beautiful thing that he had ever seen, but then again, looks can be deceptive. The quality of mutton was shit, and there was no refrigerator to store it in.

“Look, it’s not personal Joe. This is the way that things are! You have your own goals and I have mine. We should focus more on ourselves than on each other.”

“Fine then! I would have done anything for you! Are you blind! I don’t have time for you, but I have still made time to be with you because I care so much! This isn’t what I want, but I don’t know what else to do right now.”

And with that Joe used one clean sweep to slide that burger into the dustbin.

“No Joe, wait! There’s a banana peel in here! I hate banana peels!”

“Shut it, tight buns. Go on Joe, I’ll take care of this chump for you! We banana peels know how to get shit done!”

“Thanks, peel. Remind me to throw you on the pavement tomorrow so that you can make some people slip and fall.”

“Sure thing Joe, I really appreciate it buddy!”

Joe was back in his melancholic state of mind. He knew that it was over and he had promised himself that he wouldn’t think about that burger no more, but it wasn’t that simple. He found his thoughts wandering out to the burger, wondering what it’s doing right now and what it spends its time doing these days. He didn’t know if that burger still thought about him, but he hoped that it did and despite everything that happened, he hoped that fate would make both of their paths cross sometime in the future when they both are ready for it.

Joe was an over thinker. He was actually just hungry, nothing more. Well, too bad he was too broke.

 

 

About Banda Mann Singh Lamba

I'm here to create art in the form of words. Come, take a dip in my day dreams.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

