Perceptions

We are all living a lie and most of us don’t even know what to do about it.

I’m not talking about our daily masquerades; I’m talking about our perceptions.

Everything that we do and everything that we think about is influenced majorly by our perceptions. It may seem like a massive claim to make, but I believe in it.

Think about it. Most of us have pre-conceived notions about everything, in fact, the existence of stereotypes in society is proof of this because a stereotype is nothing more than a pre-conceived notion we hold with regard to a particular race or group of people.

When I was a kid, I did my best to avoid the color pink because I hated it. When I come to think about it, I never really hated the color itself, but I hated what I perceived the color to be. I always thought that pink was a color that was ‘meant for girls’ and that if I go anywhere even close to that color, then it would make me girly. It was nothing more than a pre-conceived notion and it is our pre-conceived notions that form our perceptions at the end of the day. Our whole outlook on life is formed by our perceptions. Can you even imagine the number of truths that your perceptions have prevented you from being able to see?

I believe that our perceptions prevent us from being able to see the reality around us. They serve as distractions and as long as they exist, we will never be able to see things in their true essence. I guess that is what William Blake meant when he spoke of ‘cleansing the doors of perceptions’.

Can you imagine what you would be like or what you would think about if you broke on through to the other side? Can you imagine how you would see the world if you had no perceptions to hinder you from seeing things at their very essence?

It’s hard to imagine. It’s almost as hard to imagine as the world in which there is no suffering and crime.

 

About Banda Mann Singh Lamba

I'm here to create art in the form of words. Come, take a dip in my day dreams.
Aside | This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

