Behind Your Head

No matter what you do, you will never be able to see what is behind your head.

What lies hidden in this blind spot of your existence? It could be the face of your worst fear hiding, breathing down your neck. You’d expect to scream once you turn around to look at it, but then you realise that it’s still behind your head and that you’ll never be able to see it; you’ll only ever be able to feel it.

Sometimes it doesn’t bother you, its existence is negligible. But then again, there are these notorious situations known as ‘the other times’. Yeah, those times.

“Gaberliski?”

“Huh? What?”

“Didn’t you just hear what I was telling you about this pretty cool sausage festival?”

“Sorry Neorcoro, I think I got a little lost in thought back there.”

“So, you don’t remember anything about what just happened?”

“No, I think that you’re going to have to start over.”

“Then who was I talking to right now? You seemed pretty normal till about 30 seconds ago.”

“Oh, yeah, sorry about that. I put myself on autopilot so that I can venture into the depths of the land behind my head.”

“I hate it when you do that.”

“Well, you know what they say- you’ve gotta do what you gotta do.”

“I prefer- you’ve got to do what you’ve got to do. Anyway, looks like we’re done here!”

Gaberliski paid the barber for the haircut and ran his hand down the back of his head so that he could try to assess the situation back there; feeling it with his hands all the while because he knew that he could never see it.

 

About Banda Mann Singh Lamba

I'm here to create art in the form of words. Come, take a dip in my day dreams.
Aside | This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

